Gloom, Despair, And Agony On Me

Posted: August 27, 2016 in Depression, moving

That was a song once featured on the old television show, Hee Haw. I rarely watched it, but sometimes while I was channel-surfing a bit would catch my eye. That was one that did.

Why the gloom and despair? Well, I recently moved from Rochester, NY to Seattle, WA. One of the nuisances we don’t consider when we move is having to learn the peculiarities of a new stove. My old stove was a gas range. Will my new one be gas, or electric? And if it’s electric (which I must admit is a more efficient way to cook), how long will it take me to learn its idiosyncrasies?

But I’m not going to worry about that right now. Right now my main goal is finding a place to live. While living in Rochester, I had forgotten that Washington State law allows a landlord to collect an amount 3 times the monthly rent before letting you move in: first and last month’s rent, plus a damage deposit equal to the monthly rent. On top of that, most landlords also demand a $40 application fee to cover the cost of running a background check on potential tenants.

Had I remembered that, I’d have stayed in Rochester until I had saved up enough money to cover those costs.

I’m in a hostel until the 2d of September. After that, I don’t know what I’m going to do. Go back to Rochester with my tail tucked between my legs and try to find a place to live there? After all, it doesn’t cost nearly as much to rent a place there, much less move into it.

In the meantime, I’m checking my alternatives.

I hope in the coming days I’ll have better news to post.

Comments are closed.