Migraines Suck…and Not in a Good Way!

Posted: January 24, 2016 in Depression
Tags: ,

Wednesday mornings find me volunteering at the Gay Alliance of the Genesee Valley. It mostly involves answering the phone and acting as a secretary/receptionist. At 1, my good friend Raymond comes in to relieve me.

This morning was the Volunteer Appreciation Brunch, something I’d been looking forward to for the past couple of weeks. After all, FREE FOOD! But this morning I woke up with a migraine, and not even the promise of free food could get me out of bed and moving around. The only thing that did get me out of bed was having to get up and take my migraine med, after which I went right back to sleep.

An hour and a half later, I still have the migraine. I also have another 30 minutes before I can safely take a second dose, which is something I’ve not had to do in almost 30 years. Usually, taking one pill and going to bed takes care of things, but this time it’s different.

And it’s a classic migraine, complete with strange smells, and all of the usual hallucinations. Normally, I only get a few minor visions, along with the unbearable pain, but this time it hit pretty hard.

Believe me, a migraine, combined with my depression and missing out on free food, truly sucks.

Comments are closed.