Sheer Misery

Posted: October 8, 2015 in Physical illness
Tags:

October has arrived, and with it the first cold of the season. No, not cold weather, but a cold, as in the sniffling, sneezing, coughing, aching, stuffy head, fever-type that makes you want to take Nytol® so-you-can-rest kind of cold.

I’ve been coughing and hacking and sneezing since Monday, to the point where my ribs hurt and I have to drug myself at night so I can sleep. Indeed, this morning I slept until 11 a.m. Ironically, this was the time that the Saint John Fisher College health fair was supposed to get underway. I say “ironically” because I was supposed to attend and represent the Gay Alliance of the Genesee Valley. So yeah, it’s ironic when you’re too sick to attend a health fair.

Still, it’s a beautiful day. It’s 60°F/15.5°C, and while there’s a light breeze, there’s not a cloud in the sky. The smell of freshly-mown grass wafts by my windows, as the landlord came by yesterday for what I’m sure he hopes will be the last time of the year.

Another potential mood-buster is the fact that I’m supposed to attend the third session of the Transgender Health program at Trillium Health, and I’m too sick to go. But what’s keeping me cheerful through all of this is knowing that everyone else will appreciate the fact that I do care enough about them to stay home and not inflict my case of the  Dreaded Gomboozies on them.

And that’s about it for today. I’m hoping that by Monday I’ll be back to my usual loveable curmudgeonly self once more.

Comments are closed.