I’m Barely Holding On

Posted: September 20, 2015 in Uncategorized

I keep trying, but it keeps getting harder. It seems as if things take three steps forward and two steps back. Medicare has announced it will cover medical procedures for trans folk, but most of the physicians providing surgical services don’t accept Medicare.

In order for Medicare to provide coverage, I have to be in therapy with a diagnosis of gender dysphoria…which diagnosis I received 7 years ago. So I put in a request almost 6 weeks ago for an appointment and finally got a call back last week. My appointment is for the middle of November.

All of which has aggravated both my depression and my Generalized Anxiety Disorder to the point where I’ll probably have to spend a month in therapy dealing with those issues before I can even start on why I made the appointment in the first place.

There has to be a better way.

Comments are closed.